Fact-check: Superintendent of Public Instruction
Checked 2026-10-28 (pass 2: full check). Claims: 26 (+1 tag fix). Verified: 16. Corrected: 7 (+1 tag fix). Unsupported: 3. Links fixed: 0 (Spectrum URL with trailing hyphen opened fine in pass 2).
| # | Claim (short) | Source checked | Status | Evidence / change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ballot designations for both candidates | SoS cert list (elections.cdn.sos.ca.gov/statewide-elections/2026-general/cert-list-candidates.pdf) | Verified | Designations match the SoS list exactly. Added "SoS, certified candidate list" tag + Sources line |
| 2 | Spectrum News URL looks truncated (ends "chino-valley-") | Spectrum News (fetched) | Verified | URL loads the Mar 19, 2025 article; slug is real |
| 3 | Frontmatter: ~6M students; 2027 governor-appointed commissioner, duties to State Board | CalMatters SPI guide | Verified | "A governor-appointed 'education commissioner' will run the Department of Education starting in 2027"; "nearly 6 million" students |
| 4 | Local note: Chino Valley "next door to" Rancho Cucamonga (untagged) | none | Corrected (softened) | Adjacency not sourced (and doubtful); changed to "near Rancho Cucamonga". Board president verified (CalMatters) |
| 5 | Barrera 18 years on board, ~103,000 students | EdSource Barrera profile | Verified | "18 years", "five as president"; "About 103,000 students" |
| 6 | SDUSD ELA 53.1->56.2, math 41.1->45.3, grad 90.3% vs state 87.5%; $2.9B budget | EdSource via LA School Report (Oct 15, 2026) | Verified | 53.13%->56.17%; 41.10%->45.3%; 90.3% vs 87.5%; "$2.9 billion budget next school year" |
| 7 | 2% reserve, some peers call risky | EdSource Barrera | Verified | district keeps "2% minimum reserve"; risk view from other board members, esp. small districts |
| 8 | CTA ~$5M backing him EdSource; CalMatters | LA School Report (EdSource) | Verified | CTA IE committee "$5 million"; CalMatters silent, key-finding tag narrowed to EdSource |
| 9 | Résumé: longtime union organizer; secretary-treasurer of SD & Imperial Labor Council | EdSource Barrera | Corrected | Source: "leadership post with a regional labor council covering 135 unions"; title and "longtime organizer" not stated. Reworded; added UCSD BA |
| 10 | Board since 2008 | EdSource | Corrected | Start year not stated (18 years is); "since 2008" removed |
| 11 | Since 2024 paid senior adviser at CDE under Thurmond | EdSource; CalMatters | Corrected | "a paid position" named by Thurmond in 2024; "senior" not stated, removed |
| 12 | A-G 2009; Latino A-G 25%->70% (his figure) | EdSource | Verified | "Per Barrera", 25% to 70% within a decade of the 2009 policy |
| 13 | Community schools; ethnic studies graduation requirement | EdSource | Corrected | Source: "ethnic studies in high school"; "graduation requirement" changed |
| 14 | Teacher pay +50% over 12 yrs; 100% family health | EdSource | Verified | "teacher salaries rose 50%"; district covers "100% of family health care costs" |
| 15 | Endorsed by CTA, California Charter Schools Association, UDW | CalMatters guide; EdSource | Corrected | CalMatters names "California Charter School Advocates"; name corrected. CTA, UDW verified |
| 16 | Party labels (Barrera D, Shaw R) | CalMatters guide | Verified | "Democrat Richard Barrera and Republican Sonja Shaw" |
| 17 | Shaw on board since 2022; ~26,500 students | LA School Report; EdSource Shaw | Unsupported (partly) | ~26,500 verified; 2022 start not in sources checked, removed (also "four years" in job read -> "a few years") |
| 18 | Chino ELA 58.9->62.1, math 44.6->49.8, grad 95.5%, $446M; both beat state growth | LA School Report | Verified | 58.91->62.12; 44.58->49.79; 95.5%; "about $446 million"; "faster rate than state averages" |
| 19 | No college degree; no management experience before 2022 | EdSource Shaw | Unsupported (partly) | "did not attend college" verified; management experience not addressed, removed |
| 20 | Former stay-at-home mom, organized parents in pandemic | EdSource Shaw | Verified | stay-at-home mother; organized mothers to attend board meetings, then ran |
| 21 | July 2023 policy, 3-day notice; Bonta suit; blocked Oct 2023; equal protection ruling Sept 2024; replacement policy | Spectrum News (Mar 19, 2025) | Verified | "notify parents within three days"; injunction "blocked portions"; "Equal Protection Clause of California's Constitution"; new version "does not mention gender". Added sports and "parts of" |
| 22 | "A 2025 state law (SAFETY Act)" | Spectrum News | Corrected | AB 1955 "went into effect on Jan. 1, 2025" (enacted 2024). Changed to "in effect since Jan 1, 2025 (SAFETY Act, AB 1955)" |
| 23 | 2023 meeting: Thurmond escorted out; "perverting children" | CalMatters; EdSource Shaw | Verified | CalMatters: "Tony Thurmond was escorted out"; EdSource: accused him of "perverting children" |
| 24 | Tore up cease-and-desist from transgender athlete's mother | EdSource Shaw | Verified | tore up a letter from the mother of a transgender track athlete |
| 25 | Opposes ethnic studies; does not want more school spending | EdSource; CalMatters | Unsupported | Neither source states these; removed. Replaced with sourced "return to academic basics" (CalMatters) |
| 26 | Opposes trans girls in girls' sports; endorsed by CAGOP, Moms for Liberty, CRPA | EdSource; CalMatters | Verified | activist against "policies allowing transgender athletes in girls sports"; endorsements listed (CRPA spelled out) |
| 27 | Footnote tags "EdSource/LA School Report" | footnote rules | Corrected (tag) | changed to "EdSource via LA School Report" so the first word matches the Sources label |